About / Disclaimer
  Deutsche Version
  Nederlandse versie

Holabird Sports
Old 2010-06-16, 13:33   #1
Newstringer

Default Need advice on stocking up on strings

Hi everybody
I'm new to stringing, about to order a Stringway ML100 (after looking at lots of your useful advice) - can I get suggestions for popular/commonly used reels of string to acquire - I'll probably be doing just a few racquets a month at first for friends/club players? Was thinking to get 3 or 4 different options?

Thanks for any help
Newstringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-06-16, 16:15   #2
loudriver23
Tennis Shagger

Well the obvious starter would be to get a reel of Prince Synthetic Gut Mono Fil 16 gauge with Duraflex.
That's the good old standard you will probably string the most of.

From there it gets a bit trickier, as I've found the players today all do their crazy tennis-warehouse research and expect you to stock everything they do.

I would suggest if you can afford to do so stocking a decent multi-fil in both 16 & 17 gauge. I like Technifibre NRG2, and Gamma LivewireXP personally.

Then of course you need to stock some poly for the hybrid jobs
Maybe some Luxilon ALU Power, or the WeissCanon Silverstring. I also have tried this new Solinco string and honestly it plays really well for the price. You might be able to get some good bang for the buck with that.

Anyhow I'm sure the other stringers with more experience than myself will chime in with their own suggestions.
Good luck, and welcome!
loudriver23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-06-16, 17:36   #3
sovertennis

I've had good luck with Gosen strings, esp OG Sheep Micro and Polylon for hybrid jobs. You also might consider Technifibre Polyspin. You can buy all these in reels, generally pretty inexpensively.
sovertennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-06-16, 23:06   #4
BallJacker