Contact
About / Disclaimer
  Deutsche Version
  Nederlandse versie

Holabird Sports

Go Back   Stringforum.net Board > Strings/Racquets/Stringing > Tennis Strings

Old 2009-06-14, 03:52   #1
chadakin

Default Luxilon Big Banger Original or Luxilon Big Banger ALU Power?

I am new to Stringforum.net, but I have already found the site to be very informative and useful. I was hoping you guys could help me out with something. I am a relatively advanced intermediate player who hits hard topspin forehands from the baseline. I have a hard time keeping nylon strings in my rackets, which is why I have gone to polyester strings. At this point, I would like to give Luxilon a try because I have heard good things about their products. I have narrowed my choices to two.

I am trying to determine which of the two, Luxilon Big Banger Original or Luxilon Big Banger ALU Power, is the better string. The Luxilon Big Banger Original has a better overall rating according to the ratings database on this website, but the Luxilon Big Banger ALU Power scored higher in every category the two are found together in (durability, control, tension stability) according to the String of the Year 2008 Survey (one of the polls on this website).

So, do the overall ratings more accurately evaluate the two string choices or should I put more stock in the scores found in the String of the Year 2008 Survey? I would appreciate it if I could get your opinions and/or experiences regarding these two choices.

Thanks,
Chad

Last edited by chadakin; 2009-06-14 at 06:56. Reason: string manufacturer's name misspelled
chadakin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-06-14, 03:55   #2
armsty

First off. Luxilon. Secondly, for the extra money, if you can get ALU Power, offers a little bit more. Personally I don't have the funds required so I get Original. I like that, never tried ALU power.
armsty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-06-16, 17:24   #3
chadakin

Thanks for the reply.
Old 2009-06-25, 12:32   #4
hvdb