Deutsche Version
  Nederlandse versie

Holabird Sports

Go Back   Stringforum.net Board > Strings/Racquets/Stringing > Tennis Strings

Old 2017-07-20, 05:03   #1
neel134

Default Guidance/suggestions needed for stringing a new racquet

Hi,

I am an intermediate player (around 3.5) playing recreationally.
I will be buying a new racquet and need some guidance in using the correct string at the correct tension. I started playing just 8 months ago but have been able to pick up the game fairly quickly. I am playing in city leagues and have also won some at this skill level. But I have very less idea about the various technicalities and specifications of strings. I just know what racquet suits me. So please bear with me, my questions may sound a bit dumb, hence I need some help.

I currently use a Prince racket, 280gm unstrung weight, 306gm strung weight,100sq in head. Problem is I don't know what string is on it and at what tension. All I know is how it feels to play with this string. Racquet has recommended string tension of 58+/-5lb.
When I hit the ball with this racquet, it has a very crisp feel and cracking juicy sound and gives me quite a good power at low effort. But the hit doesn't feel soft, because if I miss hit, it does vibrate or turn. So I don't think it is strung very loosely. But it also cannot be strung too tightly either as I don't feel too much pressure on my arms. I love playing at the net and hit quite hard accurate smashes, my shots from baseline aren't very fast, just very flat.

I plan to buy the Babolat Pure Aero Team racquet, 285gm unstrung weight, 100sq in head. But I would like to have the same feel and power from the strings like the Prince racquet.
What brand and type of string should I buy with it (exact name)?
And at what tension should I string it?

If you can suggest something with reasons and details that would be very helpful, because the string makes a lot of difference in the racquet.

Thanks
Neel